Author Topic: Oxidation/Rust Question  (Read 870 times)

Offline GreenMarine

• Level 4: Cobra Kai
Oxidation/Rust Question
« on: November 21, 2017, 01:17:33 PM »
Hey Fellas!! (And Ladies if there are any reading this.) I'm fairly new to the hobby and have a question about the effects of oxidation/rust on parts. I recently had a pinball for sale and was talked down on price tremendously because of oxidation/rust on the light sockets and other parts under the playfield. The game Is gone already but I just want to know for future reference. Is this a major issue that decreases the value of a pinball machine dramatically.

Offline Mamushka

• Level 9: Grid Champion
Re: Oxidation/Rust Question
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2017, 01:31:36 PM »
Hey Fellas!! (And Ladies if there are any reading this.) I'm fairly new to the hobby and have a question about the effects of oxidation/rust on parts. I recently had a pinball for sale and was talked down on price tremendously because of oxidation/rust on the light sockets and other parts under the playfield. The game Is gone already but I just want to know for future reference. Is this a major issue that decreases the value of a pinball machine dramatically.

The correct answer: Depends.

For a newer game it would greatly devalue the game for me as it would take a real bad environment to cause corrosion that quickly.
For a older (EM) game I would not expect to see pristine metal, so corrosion would have to be significant to make me really concerned.

What game was it?
Pins: TAF, FG (not the Ah-Haaa one), SM, FH, LOTR. NGG
Past Pins: SM, IJ, STTNG x2, WH2O x3, CFTBL, NGG, ES, MB, TFTC, LW3, TZ, SS, BG, LOTR, Monopoly couple of EM's
Other (AKA Vids): Cocktail MAME

Offline GreenMarine

• Level 4: Cobra Kai
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2017, 01:33:02 PM »
Theatre of Magic

Offline busa32927

• Level 8: Psi Corps
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2017, 01:37:02 PM »