Author Topic: Monitor interference  (Read 140 times)

Offline Richie107

  • Level 4: Cobra Kai
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2018
  • Location: West (by God) Melbourne,Fl
  • Posts: 341
Monitor interference
« on: July 24, 2022, 03:04:17 PM »
Monitor issue on a Data Easy Commando.
Friend just picked this up and has some sorta interference with rows of dots scrolling up and down like snow or rain..  sometimes it’s diagonal and I have heard of adding a jumper from Ground to Field ground on the PS? I tried to attach pics but its not behaving . I have included a identical problem on a youtube video I found to show the issue.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LPnTUbrt0-o
« Last Edit: July 24, 2022, 03:16:59 PM by Richie107 »

Offline k7

  • Level 10: Timelord
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2010
  • Location: ɐp¡ɹ0|ɟ ɥʇn0s
  • Posts: 22559
Re: Monitor interference
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2022, 06:21:54 PM »
that's a weird one. do the basics. power off, reseat all monitor harnesses.

i have not come across that before, but i don't consider that "interference". interference, in my experience, is solved by moving the cabinet. ;D

i consider it's interference when just moving the cabinet solves the issue. usually caused by magnets or outside electrical feedback to the CRT.
WTB:  Goin' Nuts (10)              Bigfoot (2)
                Cabin Fever (1)          Nosferatu (10)
                      Richie Rich (1)        Wrath of Olympus (6)
         
       ...and basically anything 50% off eBay/painside value

Offline Doublekick

  • Level 7: Khaaaan!
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2009
  • Location: spring hill fl
  • Posts: 1359
Re: Monitor interference
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2022, 07:20:12 PM »
Its actually not a weird one
Seen it many times. Could be unattached grounds, loose grounds. Filter caps original??
No idea without seeing the setup.


that's a weird one. do the basics. power off, reseat all monitor harnesses.

i have not come across that before, but i don't consider that "interference". interference, in my experience, is solved by moving the cabinet. ;D

i consider it's interference when just moving the cabinet solves the issue. usually caused by magnets or outside electrical feedback to the CRT.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2022, 07:44:47 PM by Doublekick »

Offline Richie107

  • Level 4: Cobra Kai
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2018
  • Location: West (by God) Melbourne,Fl
  • Posts: 341
Re: Monitor interference
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2022, 07:34:30 PM »
Will double check grounds next time I'm over.. Tried adding a ferrite core thing to the video output wires going to the monitor but it doesn't help. Thanks

Offline atarijim

  • Level 5: Power User!
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Location: Seffner, Florida
  • Posts: 622
Re: Monitor interference
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2022, 10:08:21 AM »
Try swapping in a new power supply; AC ripple passing
through failing caps is my best guess.

aj